Skip to content

One-Minute Play Festival June 12-13

2016 May 21

The One-Minute Play Festival and Actor’s Express present the 5th Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival featuring works of some of Atlanta’s well-known and not-so-well-known playwrights. Each play lasts one minute of less!

Margaret Baldwin has written and directed plays and performance works throughout the US. Her play Night Blooms received its world premiere at Horizon Theatre Company in Atlanta (2010), and later at Virginia Repertory Theatre in Richmond. Baldwin has an MFA from the Iowa Playwrights Workshop. She is a member of the Dramatists Guild, the Playwrights’ Center, and Theatre Communications Group.

Amber Bradshaw was a co-developer with an ensemble of actors, puppeteers, and video artists in the development of Time to Eat the Dogs (2013) and co-created Learning to Fly (2014). Both pieces were selected to premiere at Atlanta’s Center for Puppetry Arts’s annual Xperimental Puppetry Theater. Learning to Fly was also selected from a field of over seventy international candidates to perform in a Festival of New Works in Quebec, Canada.

Steve Brown is a local comic, and a guy named Steve Brown is listed as one of the playwrights. I have emailed the theater to see whether he is one and the same.

Nick Boretz is a member of Working Title Playwrights, a play development organization in Atlanta.  His plays have been done in Los Angeles, Seattle, Off Off Broadway, and Atlanta. He is a recipient of a Schubert Foundation Fellowship and a winner of the Samuel Goldwyn Award for Playwriting at UCLA. Nick also taught Philosophy of Theatre History at UCLA.

Paris Crayton III wrote “Brothers of Affliction,” which led him to start Rising Sage Theatre, which staged his own works its first season.

Paul Donnelly  won first and third Prize in the Source Theatre Company National Ten-Minute Playwriting Contest, and was twice nominated for the Helen Hayes Award for Outstanding New Play.

Phillip DePoy’s fiction and non-fiction books have been published and 42 of his plays have been produced. Last year his play Edward Foote ran at the Alliance Theatre.

Topher Payne has been named “Best Local Playwright” by readers of both The GA Voice and Creative Loafing for the last four years. His plays Swell Party and Angry Fags were both nominated for Outstanding World Premiere and The Gene-Gabriel Moore Playwriting Award at the 2013 Suzi Awards- Angry Fags won The Gene-Gabriel Moore Award. His play Perfect Arrangement was selected for the 2013 Source Festival in Washington DC, His play The Medicine Showdown (co-authored with Adam Koplan) was produced in October 2013 at The East 4th Street Theatre in Manhattan, and Georgia Ensemble Theatre premiered his comedy The Only Light in Reno in January 2014.

Peter Hardy has had over thirty productions of his plays produced around the country, and he has won writing awards from At Rise Magazine, the Festival of Southern Theatre and the New Southern Theatre Festival.  His play MYSTERIOUS CONNECTIONS was one of 10 plays chosen (out of more than a thousand applicants) to be developed at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center’s National Playwrights Conference in 1993.  In 2010 he was named Creative Loafing’s Critic’s Choice for Best Atlanta Playwright.  He is the Founding Artistic Director of the Essential Theatre, the leading producer of new plays by Georgia writers, and has overseen their annual Festival for every year since 1999.

Hank Kimmel is the President (and co-founder) of Working Title Playwrights. His plays have been produced or received stage readings around the country. He’s also an attorney and a tennis coach, and one of the nicest guys you’ll ever meet.

Jill Patrick is the former managing artistic director at Working Title Playwrights and is a playwright and poet.

Pamela Turner is a playwright and director with credits in the United States, Europe, and the Pacific Islands. Her original plays have appeared at theaters throughout Atlanta, and in New York, California, South Carolina, Germany, Guam, and Ireland.

Ricardo Aponte is a local actor and choreographer, and Hannah Church and Grant McGowen are actors.

I was not given a bio of everyone, and it was not made clear whether different plays will be performed Sunday and Monday. I assume so, but I don’t know. Once I have more info, I will clarify.

The festival will also feature works by Nicole Adkins, Greg Carraway, Daryl Fazio, Neeley Gossett, Daniel Guyton, Megan Hayes,  Annie Harrison, Michael Henry Harris, Sarah Hodges, Sandra Hodge-Hampton, Jake Krakovsky, Emily Kleypas, Nicole Kemper, Lee Lyons, Matt Myers,  Penny Mickelbury, Laura Meyers, Joshua Mikel, Morgan McGowen, Amina S. McIntyre, Addae Moon, Patrick Morgan, Lee Nowell, Theroun Patterson, Sherry Paulsen, Jordan Pulliam, Sherri Sutton, Rebecca Suellau, Mia Kristin Smith, Mike Schatz, Marki Shalloe, Kathryn Walat, Jacob York, Steve Yockey, Pat Young and more.

They plays will be directed by by Keith Arthus Bolden, James Donadio, Michael Harrison, Hillary Heath, Christina Hoff, Elin Rose Hill, Pam Joyce, Grant McGowen, Rebekah Suellau, Ryan Oliveti, Topher Payne and A. Julian Verner.

The festival runs Sunday and Monday at 8 p.m. at Actor’s Express. The Festival is produced and curated by Dominic D’Andrea. Tickets are $20 and available for purchase online at or by calling 404-607-7469.


Leave a Reply

Note: You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.