Skip to content

Atlanta Ballet Presents Three Avant-Garde Numbers March 22-24

2013 March 20
by Susan Asher

Atlanta Ballet’s New Choreographic Voices offers an edgy mixed rep program that looks at the bold new directions in contemporary dance. The ballet presents three avant-garde works, including Israeli choreographer Ohad Naharin’s “Minus 16,” a humorous number in which the dancers pluck members from the audience to join in the Ballroom-style dancing.

“Minus 16” is set to music ranging from Dean Martin to cha-cha, mambo, techno and traditional Israeli music. “Minus 16” originally premiered in 1999 by Nederlands Dans Theatre II, whose video hovers above this post. Naharin’s pieces have been performed by some of the world’s leading dance companies, including the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater. Naharin has received multiple international awards for his contribution to dance and culture.

NCV will also mark the return of choreographer Gina Patterson, who created her first work for Atlanta Ballet’s first New Choreographic Voices program in 2011. That world premiere of “Quietly Walking” was called a “polished balletic masterpiece” by Dance Informa Magazine.

In her second world premiere for Atlanta Ballet, Patterson explores the idea of self-discovery and the moment when a “yes” or “no” can change a life forever. “I Am,” which contains nudity, is a journey of transformation and a time of reflection.

Christopher Wheeldon’s “Rush” is a wistful, neo-classical homage to the traditional pas de deux. Six couples ebb and flow, rushing forward and soaring back across the stage. Though original and post modern in style, “Rush” maintains the essence of traditional ballet.

The New York Times said, “Critics routinely praise his wit and imagination and point to his keen musicality, mastery of stage space and inventive partnering.

The Atlanta Ballet performs New Choreographic Voices March 22-24 at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre.

Leave a Reply

Note: You may use basic HTML in your comments. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.